Blood Moon Eclipse

So Monday night was the Blood Moon Eclipse.

If, by chance, you’re not aware of what that is, it’s a lunar eclipse where the earth casts a shadow on the moon and creates a coppery-red tone (more like orange) hence the name “Blood Moon.”

I don’t have any pictures of it, but it certainly got me thinking about a couple of things about life in general.

1. For those minutes, millions of people were watching the same exact thing. That alone is quite profound, but it’s also something completely natural, unlike midnight premiers for movies or the World Cup (by the way, is anyone else excited for that?).

I find that really interesting just because I’ve always seen the moon to be a signifier that no matter how far away I am from someone, whether it be a few inches or a million miles, that person is looking at the same moon as me. It takes away that feeling of being completely alone.

2. Sometimes, you just have to acknowledge the simplest things in life. Whether that be something as rare and beautiful as a lunar/solar eclipse, or the mundane moments of our lives.

It’s kind of nice to just take in everything that’s around us. Sometimes life can be so fast paced that we forget to stop and breathe it all in. Personally, I love when I’m reminded of how beautiful life is without my high-tech tools like my camera, laptop, and phone (yes, even that little rectangle that is almost forming a worn shape in my back jeans packet). A pen and paper, some sounds of nature, and a warm sun is just what I need sometimes.

Just thought I’d make a little note of it.

Leave a Reply

