Who We Were, Who We Are

It’s interesting to see how much changes in such a short matter of time.

252369_4330103497692_1204671386_n

It’s been two years since I graduated high school, and looking back at who I was back then, so many things are different. I’m still me, of course, but I suppose it’s just all the change that comes from growing up.

I’m not one to dwell on the past, but every now and then I get a strong sense of nostalgia. Especially when I think of the warm summer nights I spent with my friends. It sounds silly to say, but we were kids (though it’s debatable whether we still are or not). I can remember one night so clearly I can almost smell the humidity.

We were kids who felt like nothing could keep us down. We were fearless, eager to see what our next steps in life would be (which is college). A small, cramped car, windows down, music blasting and singing at the tops of our lungs. At some point half of my body was hanging out of the car while I let the wind tangle my hair.

And that’s who we were. To be honest, at the time I really didn’t know those people that well, but I knew they were some of my closest friends then. Maybe it was the peak of what we might call “youth.” Graduating high school, falling in love, not a care in the world.

Two years ago, I never would have imagined I’d be where I am now. I always had an idea of maybe where I’d be ten years from then, or even now. I’m still keep in contact with most of the people I’m referring to in this post, and our relationships have all changed since that summer. Our behaviors and expectations are different, we fell out of love, and we have the overbearing idea of the “real world” creeping up on us.

For the most part none of them talk to each other anymore, but I still catch up with them. I would blame it on all of us going in separate directions, but I also think we’re all just becoming more of who we’re meant to be.

Knowing myself, I’m going to be thinking back on these same events two years from now, especially when I’m graduating college. I don’t think these changes are a bad thing at all—it’s just the way of life. I can’t imagine the idea of if things stayed the same; that wouldn’t be very fun.

Leave a Reply

