Sophomore Slump

It’s that time of year again. Well, sort of.

Classes have ended for the semester, which means that I’m done with my sophomore year of college (with the exception of my finals). Of course that requires a time of reflection on my entire second year of college.

A lot of people say that sophomore year is kind of “meh.” In the sense that it’s not the toughest year, it’s not the first year when everything changes, it’s not the year before you truly enter the “real world.” That is, if we’re not already in it. In short, it’s just kind of there.

This year allotted to a number of opportunities for me, getting increasingly involved with Neon Tommy is one, and with that I got to discover more of what I love to do–which is write, plus getting to know all the editors was a great experience too. I loved my professors, who are extremely caring and passionate about everything. I also focused more on what life has in store for my future, which is simultaneously exciting and daunting.

While my academics and career are always a priority in my life, I made the conscious decision to focus on embracing my surroundings and the people around me this year (for example, I’m writing this post instead of studying for an exam). I think anyone can agree that making friends is actually quite difficult, especially when you’re looking for people who are going to actually be there years down the road.

Somehow I managed to find people I really got to know, trust, and relate to. That’s something I don’t think I will ever be thankful enough for. These are friends that I wish I had met earlier, or if I did I wish I would have had made more efforts to get to know them. Of course it doesn’t matter at this point, because I love them all to death now. I could go on and on about how great these individuals are, but to make a long story short, they definitely made my year a gazillion times better.

All in all, this year had its ups and downs, but each and every one of them was an incredible lesson for me, and I know that I have matured and grown a lot because of that. I’m certainly looking forward to the next adventure that awaits.

One thought on “Sophomore Slump

  1. Pingback: Happy Birthday, To Me | Dale Chong

Leave a Reply

