Ah, Summer

 

It’s Memorial Day, so it’s the unofficial start to Summer, right? At least–that’s according to Ellen Degeneres.

Since I’ve settled back into my parents’ home and my old room, my summer break has been easy going. Of course this all means that it’ll get a lot crazier, but it’s only a matter of time before that happens (and that reason will be revealed somewhat soon).

Scan 1

In the mean time, I’ve been having plenty of down time, maybe too much. This summer is different from the last for a number of reasons. The people I was so used to seeing aren’t around anymore, and if they are I’m not really aware of it. That’s all fine though, I’m only home in Omaha for two weeks.

So what am I doing with my life while I’m home? Aside from running the errands that need to be done while I’m home, I find myself reading and binging on movies, whether they be on Netflix or in the theaters (“X-Men: Days of Future Past” is phenomenal, might I add). Speaking of reading, I just finished Emily Brontë’s “Wuthering Heights,” as part of my goal to read the classics along with other books I’m interested in. It wasn’t completely horrible to understand, but I definitely got confused. I am happy to be able to say that I read it, though. The next few books on my list are more classics, and some lighter reads to balance it all out–I’ll keep you posted on the summer reading list.

And then there’s writing. I suppose you know what you want to do when you keep wanting to do it, and that’s how I feel about writing. The only issue I have with it (and I really hope I’m not the only one…I just can’t be) is that every time I actually sit down to write, usually with some sort of idea in mind, everything goes blank and I forget how to articulate what it is that I want to say.

C’est la vie, I guess.

Other than that, I’m enjoying the sun when it’s out, eating ice cream, going to the pool, baking, meeting up with a few selected lucky individuals, and reading some more. I guess there really isn’t much to say.

What are you up to this summer?

 

Leave a Reply

