New Yahk.

As I mentioned a while ago, I’m in New York City with an internship at an online magazine, which is called Mood of Living. If anyone is interested in what I’m doing, I’m working with a woman who’s worked as a creative director in the magazine industry for a number of years. It’s pretty cool, and I’m learning a lot.

IMG_3538

The view from where I work. Pretty nice, huh?

Anyway, let me tell you about New Yahk.

In Los Angeles we get fined for jaywalking. Here, that is most definitely not the case. I often find myself mindlessly inching closer and closer to traffic. Don’t worry (I’m talking to you: Mom and Dad), I’m not just wandering aimlessly in front of the NYC Yellow Cabs. It’s still New York. of course I do get this “traffic can’t phase me” mindset fairly often.

Everything in New York is relatively close. Since I’ve been living in Los Angeles, I can’t say I really miss the traffic jams and the fact that I need a car to get everywhere. There are always a walk away, even if it’s a long walk. The only thing I want more of is some nature, but that’s not a big deal breaker for me.

Also, weather happens here–I knew that. I’m from Nebraska, I know I can handle it. For some silly reason I didn’t bring an umbrella out here with me. My raincoat and rain boots are not going to cut it out here. Four minutes outside and the entire bottom half of me is soaked. Needless to say, I will be owning a new umbrella this summer. Hopefully I won’t be peeling my soaked jeans off anymore than necessary.

Though it’s known as the “city that never sleeps,” I need sleep. Without school tying me down I have a lot of free time on my hands, but it isn’t like I can go out for food every night and live the fabulous lives they portray in “Gossip Girl” and “Sex and the City.” On that note, people DO NOT dress like they do in those shows. Of course people do dress quite nicely here–it’s New York. People dress well in LA too, but there’s definitely a distinguishable difference.  I’ve found that all of my free time goes to the dance studio two blocks over from where I live. I am so glad I’m taking classes, but oh my goodness I am so sore (I’ve been out of practice for a long time).

DSC_8073

I doughtnut you too, New York.

I haven’t gotten the time to explore the city as much as I’d like to just yet, but New York doesn’t feel foreign to me. I love New York. As the dance instructor said yesterday, “I love New York, but some parts are dirty…and that’s okay.”  If you ask anyone, I have an inexplicable love for urban cities. They’re all really, really fun. Just wait until the end of the summer when I start to actually know where everything is.

Leave a Reply

