New York, I’m Coming Back For You

I have been home for 48 hours and I’m ready to go back to New York already.

Unfortunately I didn’t get the chance to blog about what I’ve been up to during my final weeks in The City, but I do have to say that I certainly kept myself busy–and there are still so many things I still want to do.

In a nutshell, I did a lot as I ended my time in New York. For starters, I went to The Metropolitan Museum of Art with a friend of mine. If you ask me, you need a week to get through the entire place, and I only had a few hours. The two exhibits I really remember (and actually chose to pay attention to) were the Charles James exhibit and the Garry Winogrand exhibit.

459.1998

Garry Winogrand, The Metropolitan Museum of Art

The Charles James exhibit was done so impressively, with the display of all the dresses I was amazed. However, the Garry Winogrand exhibit honestly blew me away. Words cannot express how mesmerized I was by such beautiful photographs of the subtle moments in life. If anyone gets the chance, I highly recommend going to the Met just for that exhibit.

The last few days of my wonderful time in New York all seem to blend together for me, whether that was due to the lack of sleep or the amount of things I crammed into my days, from freelancing to seeing friends old and new, a jazz club here and there, I can’t help but say that my last few days there finished my summer off quite perfectly.

img013

After three and a half years, my friend Cody and I finally reunite.

If you asked me what the best part of my summer in New York was, it would take me a while to pinpoint, but overall I really learned a lot about myself. Looking back to where I was in June in comparison to where I am now seems like a drastic change. And like all internships, I learned more about what I want to do with my life when I grow up. I came into this summer believing that writing was what I’m meant for–maybe it still is. However, I also learned that I’m quite good at design and the creative sides of things. So maybe the creative department is more my calling in this world (that’s probably something I should have recognized a while ago).

As a student of USC, people have also asked which I like more: New York or Los Angeles. To be completely honest I just find so much more comfort in New York and I’m not entirely sure why that is. I suppose the fact that I prefer not to drive when I don’t have to might have something to do with it. I love Los Angeles and so many things about it, but there’s something about New York that just feels like home.

If I can make sure of one thing, it’ll be that I’ll be back in New York one day. It’s just a matter of time.

Leave a Reply

