stockholm, sweden + amsterdam, netherlands

DSC_0849-3

DSC_0866-7

DSC_0881-12

1

DSC_0891-14

DSC_0877-10Weeee !!!!  The weather is getting warmer and classes are over so the time has come to revise my notes and study hop on jets to various parts of this continent. The first trip to cross off the list is Stockholm and Amsterdam, and while I would have never guessed I’d be headed to either of those cities, I am so glad I did.

Stockholm was relaxing, going from Old Town Stockholm of Gamla Stan to the more kitschy area Söderhalm and I was able to just breathe and take it all in. It was certainly a nice change of pace from London. One of the things I did included a boat ride around the islands. There’s something about Stockholm that is so quaint and quiet. I would definitely say that Stockholm was the perfect place to have a short getaway. One of my favorite parts about Stockholm, and Sweden in general, is the cultural institution of “Fika,” which is essentially getting coffee with your friends and family and really embracing that quality time with each other.

As fate would have it, I had to swap my mobile device for my iPad, and let me tell you, it is NOT easy taking pictures with that thing, and Instagram is now a little too big for my eyes. On the plus side, I really like being off the grid (if depending on an iPad with wifi counts), but I can only stay unplugged forever for obvious reasons.

DSC_0897-15

DSC_0944-21

DSC_0931-20

2

Although I went to both Stockholm and Amsterdam, my memories in Stockholm were completely wiped out by everything that I experienced in Amsterdam. The only knowledge I really had for Amsterdam were the basics–and you really do need to keep an open mind when visiting!!

Amsterdam is so dang pretty I really couldn’t help myself when it came to taking pictures. However, all of the canals are essentially built in concentric circles, so there were definitely times when I thought I was actually walking in circles. It’s also a bicycling city; I’ve never seen anything like it. I ended up spending a day on a bike which made getting around easier as well as another way to really see everything. My personal favorite of the day was just coasting through Vondelpark and just being away from the busyness of the city.

I also went to Keukenhof, because when you’re in the Netherlands in the springtime you have to see the tulips (and other flowers). That place is like Disneyland for old people, with flowers and oom-pop music flowing through the air, I even heard the Beauty and the Beast theme song. I went a little crazy trying to perfect my floral photography and took so many pictures I probably have Microsoft’s next batch of desktop backgrounds.

DSC_0972-29

DSC_0979-30

DSC_0988-31

3

DSC_1009-38

DSC_1001-37

DSC_0997-36

DSC_1025-42

DSC_1063-49

4

DSC_1121-72

7

DSC_1102-63

DSC_1092-59

5

6

DSC_1114-69

DSC_1128-76

DSC_1135-78

DSC_0960-25

– dale


ps. Another part of my Dutch experience was staying in a hostel right outside of the infamous Red Light District, which definitely changed my perspective on some things. If you’d like to know more about that, feel free to contact me and I would love to tell you!

 

One thought on “stockholm, sweden + amsterdam, netherlands

  1. Pingback: a love letter to london. | dale chong

Leave a Reply

