banana bread

DSC_2106-9

DSC_2088-1One of the many things I’ve done during my free time this summer is bake. It isn’t an extensive list, but I’ve made enough for my roommates and their guests to realize that they’re usually the ones who reap the benefits of one of my favorite hobbies.

Bananas are a funny thing. Whether it was sneaking them out of the dining hall in my sweatshirt sleeves for my friends or discussing how using the word “banana” in a sentence too many times can affect a conversation, I have numerous recollections involving bananas, oddly enough. I used to love them with a passion until I overdosed on bananas. I still buy them when I go to the store, but now that I’ve had too much intake on bananas, they just get brown and mushy. Well, not unlike any other time, my bananas turned brown and mushy. However, we finally got our oven fixed up, and I can actually take advantage of the indescribable goop.

I was listening to one of the episodes of Spilled Milk‘s podcast on banana bread, and they talk about how thawing a frozen banana is one of the scariest things ever. These bananas weren’t frozen, however one of the peels was slightly opened when I moved them into the fridge, and it was one of the nastiest things I have seen involving food yet. But I kept on moving—this bread had to be made because I refused to let those bananas go to waste.
DSC_2098-4

DSC_2104-8If I learned anything from making banana bread this time around, it is most certainly that you should keep careful watch of your slowly decaying bananas. NEVER let it go so ripe that your bananas get into the gel-like consistency. You’ll have nightmares.

– dale


Banana Bread
Adapted from Julia’s Best Banana Bread

Ingredients:
1 3/4 cups of all-purpose flour

1 1/2 tsp baking soda

3/4 tsp kosher salt

3 large eggs

1 cup of sugar

1 cup mashed ripe bananas (about 2)

3/4 cup coconut oil

nonstick coconut oil spray

Steps:
1|| Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Coat your loaf pan with the nonstick spray. Whisk together your flour, baking soda, and salt in a medium-sized bowl.
2|| Next, mix together the eggs, sugar, and bananas in a large bowl until smooth. Add the dry ingredients and stir until combined. Pour the batter into the loaf pan and smooth the top.
3|| Bake for about 60-70 minutes until a tester comes out of the loaf smooth.
4|| Once ready, cool for about 15 minutes before you remove the loaf from the pan.
5|| As simple as that, you’re all done! Enjoy however you’d like. I’d recommend toasted with a nice bit of butter.

DISCLAIMER:

I am by no means a knowledgeable person for food and have no authority of giving out recipes. However I often forget how I’ve adapted the recipe, and now I have a place to look instead of asking my mom to remember for me. She’ll probably appreciate that. And now you can enjoy the wonderful creation that is banana bread too.

Leave a Reply

