a candid look at whole30: day one

My apartment decided to do the Whole30 challenge this month. If you don’t know what the challenge is, you basically cut out grains, sugars, alcohols, and legumes. All of the good things in life.

Over this challenge, like any good thing, I decided I wanted to document it. Maybe it’ll be something worth looking back at one day. More likely than not, it’ll be a laugh.

So after an evening grocery trip together, today is the day I started. I have a huge sweet tooth, and honestly I love bread and dairy (repeat: LOVE) more than a lot of things. But while the idea of Whole30 seemed like a challenge, I’m coming into this assuming that it won’t be nearly as hard as it sounds.

Anyway, today also happened to be National Pizza Day and National Bagel Day. Two of my favorite things. Not to mention that someone in the office bought pizza for everyone and I stayed in my office to make sure I wasn’t tempting myself.

One of the issues with Whole30 is that since I don’t know how to cook everything that I’m allowed to eat, it tends to be mostly snacking (which is fine because I do that anyway). Today consisted of almonds, macadamia nuts, salmon, clementines and butternut squash pasta with some olive oil. Overall I don’t feel too stuffed or starving. I was tempted to eat eggs earlier out of boredom, but that never happened.

One day down, 29 more to go.

-dale

Leave a Reply

