a candid look at whole30: day three

breakfast:

  • 2 fried eggs
  • 1/2 grapefruit

snack:

  • macadamia nuts and almonds
  • sweet potato chips
  • 2 peanut butter cookie Lara bars

drink:

  • apple, lemon, ginger and cayenne pressed juice from whole foods

dinner:

  • tuna poke with avocado and furikake (cucumbers and more added but avoided those)
  • crispy garlic brussels sprouts
  • truffle green beans

I woke up pretty early thinking it was a lot later than it was, but given that actually waking up at 7:30 and staying in bed until 8:30 is technically sleeping in for me (I wake up at 6:15 and get up around 6:40 on most days), that might have disoriented me a little.

Due to my lack of hunger, I probably could have gotten away with waiting until right before I would have left the apartment. But the act of making breakfast and having a leisurely morning appealed, so I ended up frying my eggs. Grapefruit sounded nice too, and since I have a new grapefruit knife, all the better!

I packed a container of macadamia nuts and almonds (hopefully that snack doesn’t get old too soon) for my trip to the Museum of Modern Art in Downtown Los Angeles. That held me over for a bit. Afterwards, we all decided we wanted to grab some food so we headed to Grand Central Market. However looking around, I realized there are a lot of things I can’t yet for the time being. It was fine though, I was able to wait until I got home and snack a little more.

Coming from the queen of snacking, it really makes you skip your meals. I’ve never been someone who eats at specific times, so I’ve always eaten when I’m hungry/bored and only then. I ended up skipping lunch.

NOTE: A habit I’ve gotten into early into this challenge is checking the labels for anything and everything. Whole30 is pretty strict, but I suppose for good reason.

Walking around later, I realized I was in the mood for something more to nibble on. I was running some errands at The Grove whenI saw people eating tater tots in the Farmers Market, which inspired my next foray into cooking for Whole30. I found a tasty recipe for sweet potato tater tots and was so ready to eat them, I headed straight to Whole Foods. Unfortunately, it’s really hard to find a sugar-free bacon (as in they didn’t have any).

Ugh I was so excited.

But what’s 30 days without bacon? I go months without it! But I suppose when you can’t eat a lot of things, you want the tastiest of them all. Anyway, small defeat.

Later on, I went out to dinner with a friend at a seafood restaurant. Finding something to eat had proven to be easier than anticipated, but nonetheless my options were already limited.

I think I could get used to this (if I go out as little as possible).

 

Leave a Reply

