a candid look at whole30: day seven

breakfast:

  • 1 soft boiled egg that cracked falling on the floor so I had to eat it right then and there.

snacks:

  • Macadamia nuts and almonds, which have become my savior.

lunch:

  • the three other hard boiled eggs I cooked this morning.
  • Cashew cookie Lara bar
  • more nuts

snacks:

  • one embarrassing bag of plantain chips. honestly cannot get enough.
  • a handful of blueberries because I was bored.

dinner (?):

  • two strips of sugar-free bacon (Pederson’s is Whole30 approved). it was quite tasty.

Honestly I have no idea how I ate the way I ate today.

Today was only slightly better. Free donuts in the office, and while the idea of donuts sound really appetizing, I wasn’t craving them. And this is coming from someone who owns a shirt that says “Donuts Make People Happy.” I’m quite curious to know what it’ll be like introducing sugar and general sweets back after this is all over.

But I know myself, too. Ice cream is my favorite food group; bread pudding and pie are second loves. But maybe in moderation.

The funny thing is, Whole30 really isn’t that hard, now that I’ve gotten into the habit of checking the labels every time I want to buy something, which only happens really whenever I make a run to the grocery store. Today alone, I made trips to three separate grocery stores. Remember when shopping for food was fun?

I have noticed, however, that I make more trips to the grocery store because I start to get repeat-meal fatigue. Essentially I’m just bored with what’s in my kitchen. Sigh.

If only I could get on board with salads. But as much as I’ve tried, I just can’t. I guess I’ll stick to kale chips.

Leave a Reply

