a candid look at whole30: day fifteen

I’m giving myself a pat on the back for getting to this halfway mark. Given, if you look at the past few posts on my Twitter feed, I’m still craving everything that I cannot have, along with the things I haven’t mentioned on my feed.

On another note, yesterday I talk about how I haven’t felt any difference in my body. Most people talk about how they aren’t crashing in the middle of the day during that 2-3pm slump. I can’t say I’ve taken the time to noticeĀ that just yet, but I have noticed that over the past couple of days, I’m more awake and alert when I wake up.

To explain that a little more, I’m an early riser. My first alarm goes off at 6:15am. My second alarm at 6:30am. And my final alarm, which is more or less a “you need to be in your car now” alarm, at 7am. I’m not saying I pop out of bed right at 6:15. It’s cold out of the covers, but I am at least pretty awake. I’ll stay in bed and close my eyes until the next one, but within a few minutes I’m up. Before Whole30 I’d probably stay in bed until about 6:45, which can really push it in my mornings. But I do have to say, it’s really nice to have the extra ten minutes, even if I’m leaving the house a few minutes earlier or around the same time.

Last night I talked with a co-worker about how she wakes up even earlier to get in a 15-30 minute yoga session, and I think I might give that a try. Some of my friends and/or roommates might think I’m insane, but after doing the Daybreaker event, I realized how much I enjoy starting my mornings early to take some more time. It’s a habit I’ll have to easy into, but it might be a good one.

On a slightly related note, I’m also not having AS bad of cravings. Mind you, they’re still there.

Anyway, here’s what I ate:

breakfast:

  • Spicy cacao almonds
  • Hard boiled egg

snack:

  • Pistachios

lunch:

  • Salmon filet from meal prep
  • Banana with almond butter

dinner with a friend:

  • pork cutlet
  • 2 Larabars because I wasn’t sure if I could eat anything at this restaurant.

halfway through! I’m going to buckle down (or at least try) for the second half.

Leave a Reply

