a candid look at whole30: day nineteen

Hold up!

I realized I finished my blog post from yesterday without putting up a picture of my delicious mussels, which were actually quite easy to make. Feast your eyes on this (they were surprisingly meaty, so never mind going to a restaurant for them again! JUST KIDDING).

mussels.jpg

Weeee! Cooking, taking pictures of my attempt to plate food in a pretty manner is super fun. I’m getting more excited about cooking as well as eating well.

Today started off well. I’m working my way up to waking up at 6AM, but we’ll see how that actually pans out. Getting out of bed at 6:20 (woke up at 6:15), I had enough time for a quick yoga stretch, get ready for work and dashed out the door!

I won’t bore you with the details of a day in the life of me at work. It was a slow day, and so cold that my office turned into a cozy haven in which I dozed off while watching a video about how pastry puffs are made.

Oh, that’s the other thing. I’m getting so excited about cooking these fun and exciting meals that I’m really starting to miss baking. So much that I’ve googled how to make a sourdough starter, making baguettes, watched videos on how to make cakes and vegan Thin Mints. I want to make soufflĂ©s! Ah. Wishful thinking until March 11, when I can officially start eating things Whole30 cuts out. But will I want it by then?

In the meantime, I’m accumulating a list of foods I want to make/bake/eat when I’m done.

  • Cookie Butter ice cream from Trader Joe’s
  • Chocolate Souffles
  • Cookie Butter
  • Bagels
  • Baguettes
  • Croissants
  • Apple Turnovers
  • Tofu
  • Chinese food
  • Mexican food
  • Waffles
  • Pancakes
  • Crepes

The list is growing, so I’ll be sure to keep updating you on the cravings!

breakfast:

  • Hot water with lemon (this is becoming my “thing”)
  • Macadamia nuts
  • Salt roasted plantain chips

lunch:

  • Mixed fruit
  • Sea bass from when I made it last week
  • Raw almonds
  • Apple

dinner:

  • date bite that my roommate made
  • plantain chips for snacking
  • pumpkin seeds

I was planning on having more mussels today, but I’m not really hungry as I sit here thinking about preparing them. Guess they’ll be for lunch tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

