a candid look at whole30: day twenty

I am currently typing this from my bed at 9:30pm. I’ve been laying in bed reading since 9pm until I started feeling myself fall asleep. So here I am!

I don’t have much to say aside from the fact that the habit of getting up earlier and earlier is working for me. I spent my extra time (got out of bed around 6:10 and took my time to get ready) reading Swing Time by Zadie Smith, which is the first book of my book club we’re reading! I’m the president, if you wanted to know. Feel free to join along in the fun and let me know your thoughts.

We went out for a team lunch today since one of our members is switching jobs. It was bittersweet, but really good to bond with everyone. It was a hefty meal, so I really didn’t eat much afterwards and once again wasn’t hungry for dinner. Sue me.

Aside from that though, I also had an industry event to attend. With work events, they typically involve drinks and small bites and hors d’oeuvres and whatnot. Looking at everything, my first thought was, “oh, I can’t eat these because I’m on Whole30. But I want them so bad.” However, within a few minutes I realized that a lot of the cravings come from the idea of not being able to have them, but also simply because they’re there, free, and ready for the taking. What a revelation, no?

Even though I’m getting close to the end of this challenge (man, that was quick), it seems as though my eating habits have somewhat affected others. My limitations can sometimes affect where we eat, what we eat, and more. Not drinking has also been affective. After feeling guilty because they want to go to things and places that I can’t partake in, I don’t feel bad about it because I feel good overall, and I really do hope to keep these habits up afterwards. I think not having the limitations might actually be better for me in the long run. We’ll see. What were to happen if I stopped drinking? I don’t drink much to begin with, so would it really make a difference if I wasn’t making the “I’m on Whole30 statement?” What if I cut out most sugars? LOL that’s not happening, but I really don’t think that would make a difference either.

breakfast:

  • hot water with lemon
  • kale chips meant for a snack later
  • pistachio nuts
  • plantain chips

lunch:

  • HEFTY beef patty at team lunch
  • sweet potato fries
  • Larabar

I will eat the remainder of my mussels soon, I promise.

Leave a Reply

