a candid look at whole30: day twenty one

Let me begin with this: Thank you dad, one of my two confirmed readers, for pointing out that I mistakenly typed “oysters” when referring to my seriously meaty mussels from day eighteen.

Anyway I’m less than ten days away from finishing this thing! However, despite my ever-growing list of baked goods I want to eat (and PASTA) once this is all said and done, I really am starting to imagine what it’s like to live more like this and eat this way.

Maybe it’s the coffee I had earlier this evening, but I’m actually finding myself to be much more enthusiastic about life. Okay, that might be a bit of an over exaggeration, because life is also pretty good right now, if I say so myself. Perhaps it was my mini morning yoga session that was all about yoga for productivity and focus, but I’m feeling more driven right now career wise, but that could also be because I just received a copy of Drift Magazine, of which I contributed (!).

No automatic alt text available.

Wee!

Anywho, I woke up around 5:40 naturally this morning, drifted back into a nub of being half-awake before my 6am alarm went off. For about five minutes I contemplated if I really wanted to get out of bed before I did so. I’d also like to note that after my industry event last night, I was exhausted at 9pm.

I was able to fit in a quick 10 minute yoga session along with reading for 30 minutes, so I’d say that was a pretty productive morning! Of course there are also the daily accomplishments at work, so I’d say today was an overall successful day. The only thing that brings me slightly “down” is that my neck hurts a bit, but that might be because I did a tripod headstand this morning. It feels good to be active and productive so early in the morning!

Back to what I was eating though. I stuck with my food! Had a bar, but whatever. I tried ghee for the first time, and I’m on board with it, because it kind of tastes like cheese in a vague manner. Would be down to use it again on my food, when it calls for it. It’s a little sharp, which is what I like about it.

I have no idea if I’ll actually go back and read all of these posts. More likely not, but I’m sure there’s a difference in my tone as I’ve moved forward with this little challenge. I’m feeling more excited about everything as I continue to track this. I guess we’ll see what happens!

breakfast:

  • Hot water with lemon
  • Plantain chips
  • Pistachios
  • RxBar

lunch:

  • Kale chips
  • Mussels
  • Apple with almond butter
  • 2 date/almond/coconut bites made by roommate Kiley — these are SO tasty. Highly recommend making some.

dinner:

  • 1 microwaved sweet potato with ghee
Leave a Reply

